Order of precedence

International flag etiquette should be observed when flags of more than one nation are flown. On international occasions, the flag of the host nation should have pride of place. This rule has also been incorporated in the decree on flying the Finnish flag.

Pride of place is usually on the left side as seen by the viewer (also called the heraldic right side).

Order of precedence observed in Finland

  1. Finnish flag
  2. Flags of other independent countries, in French alphabetical order. Flags of foreign countries should be treated with the same respect as the Finnish flag and thus the hoist end of each flag and all flagpoles should be of the same height.
    Nordic flags can also be in the alphabetical order of the Scandinavian languages. In a Nordic Council event held in Finland, the flags should be displayed in the following order: Finland, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Åland, the Faroe Islands, Greenland, and the flag of the Nordic Council.
  3. Flags of states in a confederation, including Nordic autonomous areas such as Åland and the Faroe Islands.
  4. Flags of international organizations, such as the United Nations, International Red Cross and the Olympic Movement.
  5. Flags of regional organizations such as the European Union and the Nordic Council.
  6. Tribal flags such as the Sámi flag
  7. Flags of areas under government administration (provinces and regions)
  8. Flags of national organizations
  9. Flags of other organizations and associations
  10. Other flags, such as the flags of private companies

 If several flags of organizations or companies of similar rank are displayed, the oldest flag or the flag of the oldest body should take pride of place.